nanaxonline.blogg.se

Glen matlock ramones
Glen matlock ramones









One of which is a rockabilly kind of thing, which is something I’ve never done before. I’ve got a wealth of songs to draw from in my live set and I’ve got these new ones as well. “I like to just turn up with an acoustic guitar and it’s almost like loud skiffle. I think music can get overblown and I like to keep it simple. I’ve got a great band on it, I’ve got Slim Jim Phantom on drums, I’m playing acoustic and singing and I’ve got Earl Slick on guitar. All of the songs on there are good songs. This new orchestral album is great, it’s very well recorded and arranged. There’s only two types of music - good music and bad music. “Good music lends itself to many different styles. To me, all of the good music since the year dot has not slavishly followed what has gone before it, it has always stuck out like a sore thumb. “Also, after I left the Pistols on the Great Rock and Roll Swindle there was a fantastic version of Anarchy In The UK in French, in waltz-time on an accordion. It had a swing beat and sounded like Frank Sinatra. A few years back I think it was Paul Anka did big band versions of contemporary songs and he did a version of Come As You Are. “To me, a good song can be done in any medium.

glen matlock ramones

(Image credit: James Shaw/REX/Shutterstock) 2. We also pressed the seasoned songwriter, bass player and guitarist on his top tips for musicians. It wasn’t just The Anarchy Arias that we chatted to Glen about ahead of the album’s 9 June release. When Anarchy In The UK first came out the Melody Maker asked how I would describe the beginning and I said it was an overture, and it is.” “A guitar has six strings but you go into the studio and do all kinds of overdubs and you end up having 24 instruments playing and that’s the equivalent of a string section. “I don’t think it’s that different,” Glen says.

glen matlock ramones

I suggested to the record company that they do a vocal out version like they did with reggae.”īut isn’t opera a world away from punk rock, we wonder. If you put punk singing on there then it’s not really opera. But if it’s an opera album and you don’t have operatic singing then it’s not opera. “The only question mark for me is the singing. “When you write a song you’re sat there in your bedroom or living room with an acoustic guitar and you’re imagining how it will sound with electric guitars and you might imagine a piano playing part or brass or even strings, and now someone has gone and done that for me, so it’s cool. “I’ve always had a soft spot for symphony music,” he adds. The only question mark for me is the singing. While Matlock’s involvement has come at the very start and the very end of the project, the fact that two of his Pistols co-writers make the cut (Pretty Vacant and God Save The Queen) means that he has contributed more than most to this intriguing record. They sent me some of the tracks and I thought it sounded fantastic, very lush string arrangements.” “Then I was approached by someone behind the scenes asking me to get involved. Somebody saw it and took the idea and went off and worked on it, unbeknownst to me.

glen matlock ramones

“It was quite funny seeing all of the cellists in my front room rehearsing it.

glen matlock ramones

“About a year and a half ago I did a thing for some friends with Marshall phones and I ended up doing a string version of Pretty Vacant and it went down really well,” Matlock says of the new album’s origins. The Anarchy Arias is a new collection of punk rock staples reinterpreted by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and some of the country’s finest operatic talent. On first glance, his latest project is the strangest of the lot. The co-founder and co-songwriter for the Sex Pistols also has a successful solo career, has performed with a slew of bands – from the Rich Kids to The Faces - and proved that he’s no slouch when it comes to his art by making an appearance at the recent London Bass Show. It seems that Glen Matlock is a man with his fingers in an array of eclectic pies. (Image credit: Richard Young/REX/Shutterstock) Punk goes opera











Glen matlock ramones